RETROBAT Official Board
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

[RESOLVED] Help mapping for Dual Sense Edge Controller with RetroArch

2 posters

Go down

[RESOLVED] Help mapping for Dual Sense Edge Controller with RetroArch Empty [RESOLVED] Help mapping for Dual Sense Edge Controller with RetroArch

Post by PraetorXyn 10/07/23, 12:08 am

Hello all! I am new to RetroBat, and have installed stable version 5.3.0. I am having issues getting my controller to work properly.

I tried searching and found a topic that had expressed a similar issue, but it doesn't seem to have been resolved there, and I've run into it now so I thought it couldn't hurt to ask again.

I like to use a Dual Sense Edge. I would imagine it shouldn't behave any differently from a regular Dual Sense controller, but I don't have one of those so I suppose it might. I'm also aware that Steam "takes over" the controller and puts it into Enhanced mode, so I have a couple of batch scripts that allow me to toggle the environment variable SDL_JOYSTICK_HIDAPI_PS5_RUMBLE to 0 (which keeps Steam from enhancing it and leaves it in regular Dinput mode) and 1 (which allows Steam to enhance it if I want to use it for a Steam game), so I don't think that's the issue.

When I open RetroBat, the controller is recognized and it seems to work fine to navigate Emulation Station, with Cross being the Confirm button and Circle being the Cancel button as you'd expect, etc.

When I open a game that uses RetroArch (I haven't tried anything else, so it may be a problem with other emulators too for all I know), the button mapping is very odd. I can only move using the left analog, and the mapping seems to be something like this for the SNES layout:
Triangle -> X
Square -> B
Circle -> Y
Cross -> A
L1 -> Select
L2 -> Start